School year calendar

Back To school – September 2020

The start of the 2021/2022 school year at the Lycée Jules Verne is set for Wednesday 1 September 2021. Schedules will vary depending on the classes.

  • Pre-primary – Johannesburg and Pretoria:

TPS-PS (grade 000): from 8 am to 10 am. This is an opportunity for parents to meet the teachers and teaching assistants as well as visit the school. Parents may stay with their child(ren).

MS and GS (grades 00 and 0): from 8 am to 2:15 pm

A kind reminder that the entrance for the pre-primary section at the Johannesburg campus is situated on Oleander avenue.

  • Primary – Johannesburg and Pretoria

from CP to CM2 (grades 1 to 5): from 8 am to 2:15 pm

  • Secondary school

6ème (grade 6): welcome from 8:00 until noon by the main class teacher

From 5ème to Terminale (from grade 7 to 12): welcome from 10 am until noon with the main class teacher.

All secondary school students will start following their normal class schedule at 1 pm.

Classes will end according to each class schedule. These will be available on Pronote from Monday 30 August 2021 and will also be given to students at the beginning of the year.

The class lists will be displayed at various locations in the school. Please take note of the following:

Pretoria campus: At the parents’ waiting area and on the door of each class.

Johannesburg campus:

  • Pre-primary: on the walls of the passage located at the pre-primary entrance on Oleander avenue
  • Primary: under the lapa of the primary school playground. Parents may accompany their child to the playground.
  • Secondary school: on the fence around the basketball court.

We would also like to remind you that stationery lists are available HERE

Aftercare (for Primary) and canteen services will start on Wednesday 1 September 2021.

NB: This schedule may evolve depending on the health context at the time. If necessary, we will inform the school community of any schedule or procedure changes on 27 August 2021 at the latest.

School Holidays 2021-2022

  • First day of school: Wednesday 1 September 2021
  • Mid-term holidays: from Friday 22 October 2021 after school until the morning of Wednesday 3 November 2021
  • Christmas holidays: from Friday 17 December 2021 after school until the morning of Monday 10 January 2022
  • Mid-term holidays: from Friday 25 February 2022 after school until the morning of Wednesday 9 March 2022
  • Mid-term holidays: from Friday 29 April 2022 after school until the morning of Monday 16 May 2022
  • Long holidays: Tuesday 5 July 2021 after school (provided the secondary school exams are finished)

Public holidays:

Friday 24th September 2021 (Heritage Day)

Thursday 16 December 2021 (Day of Reconciliation)

Monday 21 March 2022 (Human Rights Day

Friday 15 April 2022 (Good Friday)

Monday 18 April 2022 (Family Day)

Wednesday 27 April 2022 (Freedom Day)

Download the School Calendar for 2021-2022

7 Mon
All-day
12:00 am
1:00 am
2:00 am
3:00 am
4:00 am
5:00 am
6:00 am
7:00 am
8:00 am
9:00 am
10:00 am
11:00 am
12:00 pm
1:00 pm
2:00 pm
3:00 pm
4:00 pm
5:00 pm
6:00 pm
7:00 pm
8:00 pm
9:00 pm
10:00 pm
11:00 pm